It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
20th Century United States - Barton Truscott: SAAS Databases
Choose a controversial topic and offer an opinion on it. Ten quality sources are needed: 3 books, 3 database/scholarly journals, 2 primary sources, and 2 additional sources.
Academic One File - available at Seattle Public Library is a database for all major academic disciplines. It has excellent coverage of the social sciences and humanities that includes magazine and journal articles written from 1980 to the present.
The "more info" button includes specifics about database content or registration procedures.
The first 7 databases are especially recommended for the 20th Century HRP.
Encyclopedia BritannicaThis link opens in a new windowThis premier encyclopedia is easy to use online and includes more content than the printed version! Start here for an overview of any topic or as an alternative to Wikipedia. Three reading levels are available.
History Study CenterThis link opens in a new windowThe History Study Center includes primary and secondary source material with over 40,000 documents and media covering 14 centuries of history—from ancient to modern, old world to new: newspaper and journal articles, rare books, video clips, diaries and letters, dynamic maps, statistics, reference books, and websites.
Electric LibraryThis link opens in a new windowReference essentials for middle/high school: 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts plus 7 million maps, photographs, infographics, websites from Homework Central®, and top-quality audio/video clips. Includes seven formats of information: books, magazines, newspapers, radio transcripts, images, video clips and maps. Appropriate reading levels for middle and high school.
Sirs DiscovererThis link opens in a new windowSirs Discoverer is a general topic database including 1,900 magazines, newspapers, and reference books; 10,000 educator-approved websites; and 30,000 colorful graphics, photos, and maps. Geography, Science, Biography, Reference and Study Tools. Grades 1-9
Ebrary Academic CompleteThis link opens in a new window80,000+ ebook collection with unlimited simultaneous use, no due dates, and available on PCs, IOS and Android devices A user can set up a personal bookshelf, and make highlights and notes in each book. Go to url above
Sign in using your moodle id (same as your email up to but not including the @...)
Set up your personal bookshelf
Log-in every 90 days to maintain access
Go to url above
Sign in using the first part of your email up to but not including the @
Password: same as for single sign-on password
Option: set up your personal bookshelf
Log-in every 90 days to maintain access.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a very large digital archives of many standard academic peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines. It is an archives with a “moving wall” of 2-5 years which means you will not be able to access recent content within the last couple of two or three years. This resource is a staple of higher education. Article topics are typically narrow and require the highest skill in reading.
You must register with your email, and ask to create a new password. Then you can customize your registration with BrainHive.
BrainPop (currently inactive)This link opens in a new windowThis collection of short animations demonstrates a variety of basic concepts in all subjects. You can see the list of topics here: http://www.brainpop.com/topics_simple/
Congressional Digest DebatesThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the archives of Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates which include a wide variety of current social, legal and political topics.
Netflix (for Teachers)This link opens in a new windowAvailable to teachers: up to four simultaneous users. Email Librarian for log in id and password.
NoodleTools PremiumThis link opens in a new windowIntegrated tools for note-taking, outlining, citation, document archiving/annotation, and collaborative research and writing. Tutorials are here: http://www.noodletools.com/noodlebib/usersguide/
ProQuest Learning: LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowWith ProQuest Learning Literature you can explore 600 years of world literature including 4,000 authors from around the world and over 180,000 poems, novels, speeches, and plays, from medieval times to the present with reviews, study pages and multimedia materials organized in 3,000+ Author Pages.