Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War Pairs Project: Civil War Unit - Barton

Customized resources for research assignments employing a broad range of platforms, media and resources.

General Instructions from the Librarian

NOODLETOOLS

If you want to use NoodleTools (optional for this assignment) please use the app which you can find in your email. Log into your email and click on the waffle button. Scroll way, way down to the NoodleTools app. Using the NoodleTools app means you will not have to bother with an id and password, or reauthorize your NoodleTools every year.

Library Reference Collection

Civil War Books on Kindle

We have Kindle devices to lend, or if you have your own kindle, there are some inexpensive kindle books available. Here are a few of the titles just for the Emanipcation Proclamation available for Kindle:

 
To search for other titles in the Amazon Kindle collection click on the logo image:
 

Civil War Pairs

........

SAAS Databases

These two databases are history focused and include biographies, primary sources, maps, photos, and articles.

Internet Resources

Following are suggested links for finding information on U.S. Civil War history.

More Resources

In American Memory

Civil War Maps
The Civil War Map collection of the Geography and Map Division consists of reconnaissance, sketch, coastal, and theater-of-war maps which depict troop activities and fortifications during the Civil War. Part of this selection contains maps by Major Jedediah Hotchkiss, a topographical engineer in the Confederate Army. Hotchkiss made detailed battle maps that were used by Generals Lee and Jackson. This selection also includes maps that depict General Sherman's military campaigns in Tennessee, Mississippi, Georgia, and the Carolinas.

Selected Civil War Photographs
The Selected Civil War Photographs Collection contains 1,118 photographs. Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady, and include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men.

Civil War Archives


Top Primary Sources

Big List of Primary Resources for the Civil War

Also try these searches in Google:

  • [your topic] "primary sources"
  • [your topic] "newspaper articles"

Google Books Advanced Search

Many of your topics are more specific than the books in our library. But you can find whole books on your topic by searching Google Books using the advanced search page and checking the radio button: Full view only.

Specialized Resources

Music & Medicine

............